People with Glass Houses

If you are yet to come across the controversy over a certain ‘film-maker’ Ms. Leslee Udwin, who visited India recently to make a documentary about a girl who was brutally raped and murdered back in 2012 in New Delhi. To know more about the incident, it would be nice if you went here. She has undertook a bunch of illegal measures to complete this documentary because, I quote The Guardian

The BBC said it made the decision to bring forward the airing of India’s Daughter following international interest in the programme about the brutal rape in December 2012 of 23-year-old physiotherapy student Jyoti Singh

Source: The Guardian

Not only is her documentary extremely biased, close-minded and most importantly, born out of illegal activity, it is also majorly and falsely damaging India’s social image. Yes, people in India aren’t all literate. To be precise, our literacy rate is only 74.04%. Yes, we have ancient traditions like female feticide, child marriage and arranged marriage still very much prevalent in the nation. But that’s not to forget that India is the world’s 10th largest economy and as of Feb 11, 2015, it is fastest growing economy in the world (overtaking China). I would have gone further with the praises of India but I am going to contain my patriotism.

The documentary contains an interview of a convicted rapist from the mentioned Delhi rape case, who, in the documentary, goes on to blame the victim for having been killed after rape. His excuse?

“When being raped, she shouldn’t fight back. She should just be silent and allow the rape. Then they’d have dropped her off after ‘doing her’, and only hit the boy.”

Source: ScoopWhoop.com

Common sense dictates that without the permission of the government or authorities, a foreign or native journalist CANNOT go an interview a convict. Despite the discouraging laws, Ms. Udwin felt that it was perfectly alright to go ahead and effectively give a seasoned, convicted criminal the opportunity to justify his ill-deeds.

Following the filming of the documentary, she fled from India lest she might be arrested.

The documentary has been released regardless of the fact that the Indian government imposed a ban on it. It is another flagrant insult in the face of the deceased rape victim, her family and the whole government of India.

You won’t call me a particular fan of the Indian government or its judiciary, yet today when I saw the British media tossing the image of India as a society and nation into the slime, it drove me to frustration. Worse yet, following the release of the aforementioned documentary, an angered mob broke into a prison, dragged another rape-accused out onto the street and beat him to death. It is just the opening of the Pandora’s box. And this is exactly what the Indian government was trying to avoid – widespread hooliganism and violence on streets. With a population of nearly 1.3 billion people, it takes a toll on a nation to contain hoards of angered people on the streets. I really do hope, though, that incidents like these don’t take a turn for the worse.

As part of my research on the topic, I found out that while British media was busy defaming India for being the ‘Rape Capital of the World’, UK is actually one of the nations with the highest rape rates in the world.

Adjusted for population growth over time, the annual rape rate in India has increased from 1.9 to 2.0 per 100,000 people over 2008-2012 period. This compares to a reported rape rate of 1.2 per 100,000 in Japan, 3.6 per 100,000 in Morocco, 4.6 rapes per 100,000 in Bahrain, 12.3 per 100,000 in Mexico, 24.1 per 100,000 in United Kingdom, 28.6 per 100,000 in United States, 66.5 per 100,000 in Sweden, and world’s highest rate of 114.9 rapes per 100,000 in South Africa.

Source: Wikipedia

I was as shocked/surprised by this information as anyone else would be. While there are as many as 22,116 rapes in a year in UK, the supposed ‘Rape Capital of the World’ only scores 24,923 on the scale with approximately double the population of UK.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.49.06 am
Rapes in UK per year (2013-2014)

Now that I am done building the foundation of what happened next, I will take the liberty to tell you about what led me to this.

desk_flip

I was reading articles about this issue on The Guardian, more precisely this one, and I left a comment on the page with something that I felt really strongly about. I never claimed that I didn’t intend to be nasty in saying what I said or even that, that I got the spelling of Ms. Udwin’s name correct. All I was doing was exercising MY freedom of speech much like The Guardian or BBC does.

A few minutes and comments after posting my comment, to my utter mirth, I found out that The Guardian had deleted my comment off the article.

IMG_0047

Until today, my impression was that the moderator of a website holds the prerogative to delete a certain comment if it is sexist/racist/profane/personal or generally offensive. I might be quite numb but I am yet to understand which part of my comment offended The Guardian’s sentiments so badly that they had to remove a nobody like me’s comment.

All I can say is:

‘There, there The Guardian, don’t cry. Someday you will grow up and bad people will not say bad things to you anymore’.

IMG_0050

and

‘Dear BBC, it is high time you got yourself a brick house because one of these days, someone will hurl the same stones back at you that you had once hurled at their glass houses and you might get hurt.’

Leave a Reply

